Contact Us

Know the Law and the Stages of Licensing

The time has finally come! You are old enough to get a permit and start learning to drive. You may think you know all about driving from watching your parents and friends behind the wheel, but you have lots and lots to learn. Nearly all states have some form of Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) provisions in place. At the very least, this means there are three stages of licensure.

  • The first stage is a Learner’s Permit. It allows you to practice driving with a supervising adult (parent, another trusted adult and/or professional driving instructor).
  • The second stage is a Probationary License (also known as a Junior or Provisional License). This license allows you to drive independently after logging at least 50 hours of supervised driving practice and passing an on-the-road exam. This stage also usually includes some limits on driving at night, passengers, and cell phone use.
  • The third (and final) stage is a Full License. This is obtained after you have remained violation-free for a set period of time.

Remember though that learning never stops. Even experienced drivers need practice in new driving situations. Even when you've earned a full license it's a good idea to have a parent ride along when you are in a new situation (such as when weather changes or on a new kind of highway).

Know the Law and Stages of Licensing

Download the TeenDrivingPlan
Practice Guide

Download the TeenDrivingPlan Goal Guide

Download the TeenDrivingPlan
Logging and Rating Tool

Further reading:

facebook Twitter Twitter

Web Award 2010

This website is certified by Health On the Net Foundation. Click to verify. This site complies with the HONcode standard for trustworthy health information: verify here.

©2017 The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia | SITE TERMS | SITEMAP Children's Hospital of Philadelphia